The history of the Philippines from 1521 to 1898, also known as the Spanish colonial period. This was a period during which Spain controlled the Philippine islands as the Captaincy General of the Philippines. Initially under New Spain until Mexican independence in 1821, which gave Madrid direct control over the area.

Despite a tremendous effort to rid the southern island of Mindanao of its terrorist organizations. The island still houses thousands of The New Peoples Army (sworn to ISIS) with target groups putting there resources into the areas of The Bangsamoro and south to Zamboanga. Further corruption stems from families who become that tribal to control ‘their areas’.

Regretfully the Philippines is plagued by corruption. It has stagnated its growth and refused to allow other countries, foreigners to invest in its country. As a result it doesn’t share the worlds wealth. A wonderful country with wonderful people. Regretfully with its recent withdrawal  from the International Criminal Court and the stance of its president the Philippines is now seen as being even further dragged into takeover by Chinese rule.

The Philippine Islands became a Spanish colony during the 16th century; they were ceded to the US in 1898 following the Spanish-American War. In 1935 the Philippines became a self-governing commonwealth. Manuel QUEZON was elected president and was tasked with preparing the country for independence after a 10-year transition. In 1942 the islands fell under Japanese occupation during World War II, and US forces and Filipinos fought together during 1944-45 to regain control. On 4 July 1946 the Republic of the Philippines attained its independence. A 21-year rule by Ferdinand MARCOS ended in 1986, when a “people power” movement in Manila (“EDSA 1”) forced him into exile and installed Corazon AQUINO as president. Her presidency was hampered by several coup attempts that prevented a return to full political stability and economic development. Fidel RAMOS was elected president in 1992. His administration was marked by increased stability and by progress on economic reforms. In 1992, the US closed its last military bases on the islands. Joseph ESTRADA was elected president in 1998. He was succeeded by his vice-president, Gloria MACAPAGAL-ARROYO, in January 2001 after ESTRADA’s stormy impeachment trial on corruption charges broke down and another “people power” movement (“EDSA 2”) demanded his resignation. MACAPAGAL-ARROYO was elected to a six-year term as president in May 2004. Her presidency was marred by several corruption allegations but the Philippine economy was one of the few to avoid contraction following the 2008 global financial crisis, expanding each year of her administration. Benigno AQUINO III was elected to a six-year term as president in May 2010 and was succeeded by Rodrigo DUTERTE in May 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: